23 C
New York
Monday, October 2, 2023

At 3 Every, BJP And INDIA Tied In Bypolls. Opposition Has Edge In UP Seat

In Bengal’s Dhupguri, CPM and Congress have joined forces to tackle the Trinamool Congress.

New Delhi:

The BJP and the Opposition INDIA alliance have, thus far, achieved a tie within the by-elections to the seven seats that passed off on Tuesday. Whereas BJP candidates have been elected from the Dhanpur and Boxanagar meeting seats in Tripura and Bageswhar in Uttarakhand, the Opposition bloc has gained in Jharkhand’s Dumri, Puthupally in Kerala and Dhugpuri in West Bengal. 

The Samajwadi Celebration, which is a member of the INDIA alliance, is main in Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi constituency.  

Listed below are the newest updates:

In Tripura, BJP’s Tafajjal Hossain gained the Boxanagar seat whereas the tribal-dominated Dhanpur was gained by Bindu Debnath.

In Uttarakhand’s Bageswhar, after taking an early lead over the BJP’s Parwati Dass, the Congress celebration’s Basant Kumar fell behind. Ms Dass defeated Mr Kumar by over 2,400 votes. The bypoll was held after the demise of four-time MLA and cupboard minister Chandan Ram Das in April. 

Delivering a giant blow to the ruling CPI(M), Chandy Oommen of the Congress-UDF alliance gained the Puthuppally by-election in Kerala by a margin of over 36,000 votes. Mr Ommen, son of late Congress stalwart Oommen Chandy, gained a transparent edge within the first spherical and retained that place until the counting of votes was accomplished. 

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Bebi Devi has gained the by-election to the Dumri meeting seat in Jharkhand’s Giridih district and defeated All Jharkhand College students Union (AJSU) celebration nominee Yashoda Devi by over 17,000 votes.

Dara Singh Chauhan, the sitting MLA from Ghosi meeting constituency in Uttar Pradesh and a preferred OBC chief, rejoined the BJP after resigning from the Samajwadi Celebration. His resignation necessitated a by-election in Ghosi, during which the Samajwadi Celebration’s Sudhakar Singh is main by over 24,000 votes as per newest developments.

Over in West Bengal, two INDIA bloc events – the Congress and the CPI(M) – joined forces to tackle one other Opposition ally, the Trinamool Congress (TMC), within the BJP-ruled Dhugpuri constituency. Nevertheless, the TMC’s Nirmal Chandra Roy prevailed and asserted the Mamata Banerjee-led celebration’s management over the seat.

Of the seven seats that went to polls, Dhanpur, Dhugpuri and Bageshwar had been held by the BJP. Ghosi was held by the Samajwadi celebration whereas the seat in Jharkhand was held by the JMM. Tripura’s Boxanagar seat and Kerala’s Puthupally had been with the CPM and the Congress, respectively.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles