17.7 C
New York
Wednesday, June 7, 2023

8 Chief Ministers Skip NITI Aayog Assembly Chaired By PM Modi

Because the chairman of NITI Aayog, PM Modi presided over the assembly.

New Delhi:

Eight Chief Ministers are skipping the NITI Aayog Council assembly presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi right this moment. Rajasthan’s Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has cited well being causes for not attending, and Kerala’s Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has not given any particular purpose for his absence.

Arvind Kejriwal wrote to the PM on Friday, asserting his boycott of the assembly over the Centre’s current ordinance, and charged that cooperative federalism within the nation was being become a “joke”. The controversial ordinance by the BJP-led Centre successfully cancels a Could 11 Supreme Court docket order that granted the Delhi authorities govt management over the forms.

Punjab’s Bhagwant Mann has written a be aware to the Centre saying it isn’t being attentive to Punjab’s pursuits, which is why he’ll boycott the assembly. Within the earlier assembly, in August final yr, the Chief Minister had raised the problems of Rural Improvement Fund (RDF), stubble burning, and farmers’ considerations which he says the Centre paid no consideration to. Calling it a mere “picture session”, Mr Mann in his be aware has mentioned there isn’t any use in taking part within the assembly till pending points have been addressed.

Three different outstanding Opposition leaders — Telangana’s Ok Chandrashekar Rao, West Bengal’s Mamata Banerjee and Bihar’s Nitish Kumar — who’ve been making an attempt to sew collectively a grand united Opposition entrance to counter the BJP in subsequent yr’s Lok Sabha elections, are additionally skipping the assembly.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who maintains a calculated distance from each the NDA and the Opposition, was additionally absent from the assembly. In accordance with the Chief Minister’s Workplace, Mr Patnaik didn’t attend the assembly as he has a previous programme.

The BJP mentioned the lacking Chief Ministers didn’t deliver the voice of the folks to an important planning assembly, the place over 100 points had been listed to e mentioned.

“Eight Chief Ministers right this moment didn’t attend the NITI Aayog assembly. NITI Aayog is essential for the event and planning of the nation. 100 points have been fastened for this assembly, and the Chief Ministers who haven’t come should not bringing the voice of the folks of their state right here. How far will you go to protest in opposition to Modi?” BJP chief and former Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad mentioned.

Authorities sources have mentioned boycotting NITI Aayog Governing Council Conferences by Chief Ministers is the same as boycotting the state’s improvement. Greater than 100 vital points can be mentioned on the Governing Council Assembly (GCM), and states not being represented will lose out, sources mentioned.

“Roadmap to be laid down on following points: Viksit Bharat@2047, (ii) Thrust on MSMEs, (iii) Infrastructure and Investments, (iv) Minimising Compliances, (v) Ladies Empowerment, (vi) Well being and Vitamin, (vii) Ability Improvement, and (viii) Gati Shakti for space improvement and social infrastructure. Individuals of the states whose CMs boycott the assembly won’t be able to reap the advantages of discussions and choices on minimising compliances, Gatishakti, fashionable infrastructure, MSMEs, and Ability Improvement. There’s a wealthy legacy of motion taken and citizen welfare from the roadmap laid down by earlier GC conferences,” they mentioned.

Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Sanjay Raut has mentioned if non-BJP Chief Ministers are boycotting the assembly, it means the Centre shouldn’t be treating them correctly. “Whoever shouldn’t be obeying the Centre, the NITI Aayog shouldn’t be listening to their calls for,” he mentioned.

PM Modi is chairing the eighth governing council assembly of NITI Aayog on Saturday on the theme of ‘Viksit Bharat @2047: Function of Crew India’ on the new Conference Centre in Pragati Maidan, New Delhi.

Because the chairman of NITI Aayog, PM Modi presided over the assembly. He’ll deliberate on points associated to well being, ability improvement, girls empowerment and infrastructure improvement, with an intention to make India a developed nation by 2047.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles